Home » Political Philosophy » Why I’m a Libertarian

Why I’m a Libertarian

Blog Stats

  • 1,862 hits

Top Posts & Pages

cooltext1484383378I’ve been involved in the liberty movement for a few years now and have come to the point where being a libertarian is second nature to me. Almost like a religion, I tend to follow the ideals of what I perceive as liberty and look up to the intellectuals who helped me reach that conclusion. But sometimes even I stop to ask myself, “Why am I a Libertarian?”

I am not oppressed. I come from a secular and free household. I do not need to pay tax. I do not smoke marijuana. I am not homosexual. I am not a business owner. I am not a gun owner.

I am not oppressed. In fact, I should be living a somewhat happy existence. Laws seldom affect me and those that do, tend to have little effect.

So then, why do I feel saddened by the state of my country? Why do I debate avidly for the ending of drug prohibition and the rights for same sex marriage? Why do I protest tax and business regulation while supporting gun rights?

From a hedonistic point of view – I should not care at all. If I am unaffected, I should not be concerned.

But I do.

I feel that if one human is oppressed, we all are. We’re an interconnected society. No longer can we divide ourselves by borders, religion, culture, gender, class and race. Yes, these things may exist but we all have one thing in common.

We’re human.

And as humans, we all hold something else in common. We all want to be free and we all want to be loved.

I am not free. I am not loved. Yes, I may very well be as an individual – but as long as, in this world, exists a human who is not loved and who is not free – I will not be free.

We tend to ignore Human Rights Day. It’s merely a public holiday and this year it’s going to be no different.

Let’s not try to change that but instead aim to continually fight for freedom all the time. Not only for ourselves, but for everyone.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 769 other followers

